Personal Assistant, East, Suffolk, Ipswich – Jobs24.co.uk
Note that this advert has expired!
The application deadline for the job advertisement has been exceeded, and the post can no longer sought. Advertisement is shown for reference purposes only

Personal Assistant

Ipswich, Suffolk

Published
22-06-2018
Job ad details
Published
22-06-2018
Expires
13-07-2018
Job ID
329835404
Job type
Part-time
Permanent
Job sector
Admin, Secretarial, PA, Cleaning and Domestic, Medical and Carers

Personal Assistant (Housekeeping, care & support)

Reliable Personal Assistant (housekeeping, care & support) required in Ipswich (Chantry) for woman with chronic physical illness. Mostly domestic work; cleaning, cooking, gardening, support & errands. Includes some light personal care and a good deal of lone working. 14hrs/wk, over 4 days (3.5hr shifts) £8/hr. A strong work ethic, very high cleaning standards and own transport essential. Ideal candidate will be 'LGBTQ+ friendly', conscientious and empathic with good listening skills. DBS check required.

Job Purpose:

To assist me in the day-to-day running of my home and with some light personal care, supporting and enabling me to live independently and to enjoy a greater quality of life whilst I navigate the challenges of a debilitating chronic illness.

My health conditions really limit what I'm physically able to do day-to-day, despite this, I maintain a positive outlook and like to remain as independent as I can. I need a fair amount of support to achieve this and it's important to me to retain choice and control over how that support is delivered, which is why I employ my PA's directly.

Although you'll be left to get on with your work a good deal of the time, our working relationship, particularly our ability to communicate well, build trust and work in synergy, is key. I'm fair, polite, considerate and flexible and would expect the same in return. Read on if you think we'll work well together...

Job description and main duties:

The successful candidates role will be to assist with my domestic and personal needs, along with any other day-to-day requirements and activities. For the right person, this could be a rewarding and long-term role.

I have fairly high cleaning standards, like to keep my home tidy and domestic hygiene is very important to me (and more importantly, to my health) - so attention to detail really is key and is one of the things I value most highly in a PA, along with reliability, good listening skills and good time management.
A positive attitude, warm and empathic nature and conscientious approach are far more important to me than previous work experience, but you would ideally enjoy keeping a clean and tidy home yourself to be well suited to this role.

As a personal assistant, you should always check what my needs and requirements are and how they would best be met, whilst respecting my privacy and maintaining a professional approach. Care should be taken to treat our working relationship as confidential, including details of assistance & support. You should always remain mindful of my right to dignity, respect, choice and independence.

Tasks may include...
A wide range of domestic tasks, such as:

- Washing/drying dishes
- Laundry (Inc. ironing)
- Vacuuming & mopping floors
- Kitchen & bathroom cleaning
- Cooking / food preparation and meal planning (vegetarian & vegan household)
- Household waste removal
- Cleaning windows
- Garden maintenance
- Changing bedlinen
- Tending to pets
- Occasional, light DIY
- Dusting, tidying & organisation
(Gloves provided for all cleaning duties and food prep)

Support and errands outside the home may involve:

- Grocery shopping, bank, post office, vet and pharmacy trips (Inc. money handling)
- Accompanying me to occasional appointments (Inc. providing transport where necessary)
- Very occasional trips out for pleasure, e.g. shopping, library, nature spots, attending groups/classes

Some light personal care may be required and examples of this are included in the application pack. I prefer to undertake as much of my own personal care as possible and your role here would generally be supportive. In terms of skill, If you're handy with a hair-dryer and straighteners I'd be absolutely over the moon!

Person Specification:

- Reliable (good timekeeping, trustworthy).
- Very high cleaning, tidying and hygiene standards absolutely essential.
- Strong work ethic.
- Own car essential (Must be willing to use this for work purposes, including the weekly grocery shop and to transport me to and from appointments, etc.)
- Happy to work unattended from a daily 'to do' list (I'm often unable to be around much due to ill health so a good amount of lone working is required)
- Able to use initiative & exercise a good deal of common sense.
- Respectful of my home, choices, lifestyle & privacy.
- Happy to follow instructions & do things in the way I prefer, which may be different to the way you do things at home.
- Able to be flexible (duties and, very occasionally, hours - subject to reasonable notice of course).
- Conscientious and thorough, paying good attention to detail.
- Approachable & considerate.
- Good communication skills (particularly listening skills).
- Open to learning my preferences & receiving feedback, including appraisals / reviews.
- Fairly physically active and able to manage the more strenuous jobs around the home (lifting/carrying, using the stepladder, mowing the lawn, accessing the loft)
- Comfortable around cats and with pet care
- Enjoy keeping a clean and tidy home yourself, preferably.
- Non-judgemental and empathic.
- Good organisation and time-management skills.
- Strong understanding of and adherence to confidentiality and ethical conduct.
- 'LGBTQ+ friendly'
- Open to learning about my health conditions and the impact they have on my day to day life. Gaining an understanding of the significance and importance of your role and my need for you to be committed, reliable, hard-working and trustworthy.

Summary of terms and conditions:


- Hours of work per week: 14
- Rate of pay: £8 per hour (weekdays and weekends) - £12 per hour (bank holidays). Paid 4-weekly.
- When: 4 shifts of 3.5 hours each, per week (2-3 mornings and 1-2 afternoons, depending on client need) Days and times are negotiable, but must be spaced out across the week with no more than 2 days between.
May include very occasional weekends, early evenings and bank holidays upon prior arrangement and extra hours/overtime may occasionally be available.
- Not essential to work public holidays but important to adjust work pattern around them to ensure continuity of support.
- You will be reimbursed for any expenses incurred as part of the role (Inc. travel during work at 35p per mile) on each payday.
- Annual holiday entitlement will be equivalent to the work which would normally be done during 5.6 consecutive weeks. Annual entitlement is therefore 78 hours and 24 mins.
- A satisfactory (enhanced) Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check (formerly known as a Criminal Records Bureau check) is required for this position, the cost of which will be covered by the employer.
- The successful applicant will be required to provide details of two referees, one of which must be their current or most recent employer and neither of which may be a family member.
- This post is subject to a probationary period of 3 months and satisfactory references.

How to apply:

If you feel you're right for this role, meet the requirements and wish to apply, please contact Suffolk Independent Living (quoting the unique SIL REF4195) for an application pack which includes further information about me and my needs. The closing date for applications is Friday 13th July 2018.

Suffolk Independent Living
Unit 7, IP-City Centre
1 Bath Street
Ipswich
IP2  8SD
Telephone: (01473) 603876
Email: suffolk@silmail.org

Apply now

Share this job

Jobs from this employer

Share this job

Job ad details
Published
22-06-2018
Expires
13-07-2018
Job ID
329835404
Jobtype
Part-time
Permanent
Job sector
Admin, Secretarial, PA, Cleaning and Domestic, Medical and Carers